Chapter 2

The Fastest Record Holder

「Kaito, your total dungeon conquering time is 4 minutes 32 seconds…Is this true?」

By looking at the reaction of the instructor, I realized that this short amount of time is abnormal in this world.
My dungeon conquering method is not common in this world…Is that so?

Maybe because of the instructor telling the guild, they will shift their attention to me.
Should I tell them the truth?
But, by assuming I explained it then being enquired about it is definitely a possibility.
It does not seem to be a wise decision to RTA-capture a dungeon as it does not have any advantages.

I do not like attracting too much attention…

「I seem to have been favoured by luck somehow.」
「Luck?」

To disperse his interest, I decided to call it luck.

「Yes, It may look suspicious when you look at the record of the guild card, but I subdued only one monster this time. As I challenged the dungeon alone there was no time-loss than challenging it with a party. Therefore, I don’t think the time is abnormal.」
「mm…Certainly. But, how did you arrive at the room of the boss all alone? There was also the Middle-boss right. It’s hard to believe that you killed it all alone…Should have been a pretty powerful one.」

I did not fight the middle boss in the first place…

「In fact…There were very few monsters and the fact that there are only five levels makes it easy.

「Why not?」
「mm…I don’t know. But I can imagine it. Perhaps there was a person who conquered the dungeon before me…」
「Hmm…I see. Once the monsters are defeated, It will take some time to spawn again…So it is possible.」

It is hard to say whether the instructor was satisfied but it seems he will not pursue the matter for now.

Most of the people who paid attention to me seemed to have lost interest.

「But, even with good luck this is a great record. Even if I do it in the dungeon it will probably take around four minutes…Well, take a look at your status now.」

As the instructor said, I called out to my status card.
A card appears in my hand.

I look at the name and the abilities displayed but there was no change.
…No, I have a feeling that the portion beside my name glittering dimly.

「…Something’s glittering. What the heck?」
「It’s as expected…it happens when you achieve some great things. You seemed to have received a title of some sort.」

Have I been given a title?

「Got it…from whom?」
「…We, The staff of the guild, call it the god of the dungeon for convenience.」

So a title from God…
Well, let’s see what I got.

Then, the instructor asked about what the title is.

We have the ability to change multiple titles to set a favourite one.

It seems that the instructor does not have one so he does not know much about titles.
I seem to have the ability to hide the benefits of a title.

That is because I do not like to show off like others what kind of title I had as much as possible.

I thank the instructor and leave the guild.

I was interested in what kind of title I got but it is better to not say in the public.
I decided to return to the inn where I was staying.

In the inn, I confirm the title at once.
Oh, I got two titles.

『Mill Dungeon’s Fastest Record Holder (Beginner Class)』There is no status update.

I see. The name of the dungeon ‘Mill’ or the place that I conquered became my title.
However, this title does not seem to have a status update.
Even though I was a little disappointed I check the other title I got.

『Dungeon Fastest Record Holder』 Status Update Agility by 4 levels.

Aside from the place name not being present, there was no change.
With a status update.

But I did not understand it well.
How is it different from the first one?
I relax my head and think for a while.

There is only one answer.
Could it be that my record is the fastest in all of the dungeons in this world?
It is agreeable since the dungeon name did not appear.

「OiOi, are you serious…」

Moreover, my agility value went up from D level to C in one go.
All the status except Agility is E.
I become sad when I remember it.

Well, by clearing the beginner class dungeon I was able to gain a title But what should I do next…
It will be a dream within a dream to conquer this world with my present abilities. In order to achieve this dream, I must become stronger.

But the way to increase the status is not many.

As far as I know, special equipment will be given because of a status update.
Levels exist in this game like world.

It is same as the levels in an RPG.
However, there is a difference too.
For example, It is hard to level up in the low levels.
As long as there is no special talent, It will usually take five years to level up from 1 to 5. Level 10 to 20 can be called the mid-phase while anything above 20 is the level of a master.
Even the highest level in this world seems to be 40.

Now my level is 2.
By reinforcement of status I find out that leveling up is tough, But I don’t agree on leveling up bit by bit.
But I do not know how many years it will take for me.

…I’ll try to do things my way.

I spent the night assembling the chart of levels.
The next day.

I decided to go to the weapons shop.

「Oh! It seems to be the visitor from yesterday. What can I do for you?」
「I would like to sell this.」
「Yes. Ah, it’s the Mithril sword you bought yesterday.. Did you not like it?」
「No, It was very useful.」

I ask the owner about the selling price.
its sale price seems to be seven silver coins.
But I was satisfied with the amount so I asked the storekeeper for the money.

「I would like to buy some other equipment.」
「…What is your budget?」
「Its these seven silver coins.」

I finished shopping and left the weapons shop

with an Orichalcum sword in my hand and my body covered with Orichalcum armour.

The sword and armour’s performance level is B+.

However, due to a powerful curse of some sort, it became of inferior quality and its performance level dropped to E.
Because it is cursed, the shopkeeper wanted to get rid of it earlier.
I purchased it with seven pieces of silver.

After I finished shopping I headed towards the guild.

I arrived at the waiting room and take a chair.

A middle-aged man sat beside me suddenly.

「I believe that you are a rookie…Your equipment is good. Could it be Orichalcum?」
「Yes…It is. How did you know?」
「It is expected…What is your level?」
「I am level 2.」

I answered immediately.

「Puff」

Everyone around me started to laugh.

「Haha…Orichalcum for a level 2. If I’m not mistaken the muscle strength required is C-」

I reply with a smile.

「I do not mind it. I just wanted to have Orichalcum equipment.」
「Well, I understand. Nevertheless, you are an interesting fellow.」
「…Haha, Thank you.」

I put on a fake smile.
I did not want trouble.

Then, a party which seemed to be strong entered the guild.
It is a party made of two men and women.

The men were dressed like a knight. Their ages must be around 20 I guessed.

The women too had similar appearances. Their ages almost same as the men but she could be considered beautiful.

One woman was wearing a robe. Because I could not see her face well I did not know her age.

A man with an Axe.

All members seem to be strong.
As soon as they entered, People made way for them.

「…It is Moses Ten Commandments.」

The celebrities of the guild?
Or otherwise, they could be Important people.

I will not miss this chance.
When I stand up quickly, The party approaches.

Because they were conversing, I tried to strain my ears.

「It had to happen today!」
「It can’t be helped, today four people should go.」
「It may be good to invite a person who is strong in this guild.」
「Well, They would likely hold us back.」

I see.
As far as I heard, Most likely a party member can’t come.
This is timely.

I call out to them at once.

「It looks like you have a problem. Can I lend you a hand?」

The moment I who am level 2 spoke, several people who were hearing turned around simultaneously. My shoulder begins to tremble little by little.

「Cough! Kukukuku…」

One man who just entered started to Cough violently.
And disappeared into the restroom of the guild.

I do not care about this situation and talk to the party.

「I heard the story. I want to go with you.」

All party members shift their eyes on me.
To my words, The knight like man asked me a question.

「…Who are you? You seem to be well equipped certainly but… 」

The knight like man talks.

「I am Kaito. You may call me Kaito.」
「…So Kaito, What is your level?」

Most likely due to the level difference they will reject me plainly.

「My level is 30.」

I lied without any guilt.

Several people turned around when I said level 30, But I did not mind them.

But the knight-like man does not seem to trust me and repeats the question while taking a look of doubt to me.

「So Kaito, which level did you reach in the dungeon?」

He asked while putting it arrogantly.
Well, it is obvious due to my age.

「Of course I cleared it. Do you take me for a fool?」
「No…It’s not like that. Well, Cleared? Can you prove it?」

He makes a sarcastic look.
There is no doubt that I can prove it.

I show them the status card.
『Mill Dungeons Fastest Record Holder(Beginner class)』I showed them the title.

Of course, I hid the part “Beginners Class” with a finger. Maybe if they’ll hold it I will get exposed.

Their reaction was dramatic.

「The Fastest!?」

Oh, it is there to react.
They quickly asked me a question.

「You cleared the dungeon here?」

They were surprisingly kind this time.
I understand their feelings.

「Still……」

Says the Knight-like woman in vexation.

「Well…Shall I guide you?」

I spoke softly. Because I was convinced that I stood on the top.

「……He seems to be reliable so why don’t you have him guide us.」

The woman who wore a robe says.
She seems to be supporting me.

「But it’s strange. I heard that there was not a single person who cleared the Dungeon of Mill in these past five years….」

The man said.

「Is it so.…Then that means a person who cleared the dungeon did not appear to me……」

I swear without being timid again.

(It has only been a week since I joined the guild ! !)

The guilds staff’s eyes fell on me which made me slightly uncomfortable.

「If you cleared it 5 years ago then what is your age now?」
「17 years old. It was when I was 12 that the dungeon has been cleared…」

I lower my eyes and say.
It’s an Oscar thing.

「…I see. Even if the title seems to be unbelievable, To tell a lie to become a guide what sort of advantage does it have.」 I think the eagle may be trusted.」

The knight-like man seems to be convinced that the old bird made a remark to recognize me.

「…I see. Then I will be your helper. Is there any other person?」

He does not answer.
Well, the first step is cleared.

That reminds me that several floors will be strange from now.
The Mill dungeon is of 50 floors.
With my intuition, it’s expected that we will go to somewhere around floor 30.

「By the way, what floor did you reach now?」
「We reached level 45 last time. The subjugation of the boss is the aim now」
What! Is that true…

5 thoughts on “Chapter 2

  1.    , ___ ,
      .l== ==l
      .L___」
      /      \.
      l ::::::::::::::::: l
      |—Thanks!–|
      |—-Nepu!!—|
      | ……………|
     )::::::::::::::::(
    〔::::::::::::::::::::::〕
    〔::::::::::::::::::::::〕
    〔::::::::∧::∧::::::::〕
    〔:::::(,,゚Д゚):::::〕
    〔:::::(/::::::::つ:::〕
     ゝ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;ノ
       .し`J

    Like

Leave a comment